Skies Above Madeira

My first view of Madiera was from the plane window. White clouds bubbled beneath us with the top of the mountains breaking free and being silhouetted on the horizon.

We chose our apartment because of the fantastic location in central Funchal, but it was even better than expected because it had balconies at the front and rear. The ones at the back faced the town and the hills that rise behind it, which looked spectacular when the lights came on after dark, but they couldn’t compete with the amazing sight of the harbour and sea that we enjoyed from the main living quarters. There was always something happening in the harbour but the ever changing skies caught my attention every time I entered the room.

e ever changing skies caught my attention every time entered the room.

About beatingthetrack

“I have wandered all my life, and I have also traveled; the difference between the two being this, that we wander for distraction, but we travel for fulfillment” Hilaire Belloc

Leave a comment

Dreaming in Arabic

Adventures in the United Arab Emirates & Beyond

Seanic

Living is Easy with Eyes Closed